FAQS

FAQS2019-02-03T04:50:12+10:00

Frequently Asked Questions

Will my home insurance cover termite damage?2019-02-03T04:41:52+10:00

Myth 1 – NORMAL HOME AND CONTENTS INSURANCE WILL COVER TERMITE DAMAGE 

Normal house and contents insurance does not cover termite damage.

Termites have done more damage to Australian homes over the past twenty years than fires, floods and storms combined. The insurance companies know this and exclude it from their policies.

To ensure that you don’t end up with a nasty damage repair bill and a dispute with your insurance company, your house should be regularly inspected for termites at least once a year.

If any termite activity is found in your property/home you should install an accredited termite management program by a licensed timber pest company which will guarantee their work with an effective termite insurance policy. We can handle this for you.

Should I ignore termite activity in tree stumps on my property?2019-02-03T04:29:27+10:00

Myth 5 – YOU CAN IGNORE TERMITES IN A TREE STUMP

Old tree stumps, railway sleepers, old timbers and garden bark etc laying around your property can have termite activity.

The myth is that while they are eating these timbers they will not touch your home.

It’s important to remember there could be between 2,000 and 5,000 new eggs laid every single day.

Termites are constantly traveling underground looking for new sources of food. A termite colony requires access to multiple sources of food. If they’re on your property, they’re definitely going to be searching for new food sources like your house

A termite management program should be installed around the building foot print if any termite activity/damage is found within the bounds of your property or home.

Will black ants in my garden prevent termite activity?2019-02-03T04:28:22+10:00

Myth 4 – BLACK ANTS IN YOUR GARDEN PREVENT TERMITES

Another common myth is if you have black ants around your property, you won’t have termites because the black ants eat them.

Black ants do eat termites but only if they are exposed and above the ground and out of their shelter tubes.

Termites are rarely sitting exposed above ground. They do not survive in an open environment.

Don’t let the presence of black ants on your property give you a false sense of security.

Are steel framed homes safe from termite activity?2019-02-03T04:26:59+10:00

Myth 3 – STEEL FRAMED HOUSES DO NOT GET TERMITES

This is a common myth. Termites dont eat steel however they eat all other timber based products within the home such as:

  • skirtings
  • architraves
  • window reveals
  • floor boards
  • the cardboard backing of gyprock

Our inspectors have seen substantial termite activity/damage in steel framed homes.

Is it true that termites do not eat hardwood?2019-02-03T04:34:33+10:00

Myth 2 – TERMITES CAN’T EAT HARDWOOD

The majority of termites in Australia are hardwood eaters. Some termites eat both softwood and hardwood.

The most common type of termite in the Gold Coast and Brisbane areas is the nasutitermes genus of termite. These termites prefer to eat hardwood. They even move along sections of softwood beams to get to the hardwood. Coptotermes and schedorhinotermes in the region, also eat hardwood.

People who do not get a building and pest inspection of their house because it is steel framed could be making a fatal mistake, particularly in Brisbane and the Gold Coast regions

How can I book an inspection?2019-02-03T04:20:03+10:00

Call us on 0418 781 260 or use our quote form.

PHONE: 0418 781 260

 
Use Our Quote Form

Are you affiliated with any solicitors or real estate agents?2019-02-03T04:10:58+10:00

No. we are totally independent. We work only for you, the client.

Will the report include a cost of repairs to the property?2019-02-03T04:10:16+10:00

Repair costs are not included in the Building and Pest Inspection Report, however our are inspectors are fully qualified builders with over 20 years experience and are able to give you a quote for any repairs that may be required.

Will the building and pest reports be explained to me?2019-02-03T04:08:39+10:00

Yes. The inspector will take the time to explain to you the findings in both reports, page by page. Any questions you have will be answered at this meeting.

What do I do if the building and pest inspection is bad?2019-02-03T04:08:06+10:00

Most properties will have some defects. If the inspection report identifies building defects, in most cases it may not mean you should not buy the property. The report will indicate the condition of the property at the time of inspection.

What equipment do you use to do an inspection?2019-02-03T04:06:55+10:00

Our inspectors use:

  • An approved moisture meter to determine moisture reading in wet areas such as bathrooms and kitchens, shower recesses and laundry.
  • Infrared thermal imaging camera to detect any large areas of termite activity.
  • Sounding device to determine density of exposed timber work such as window reveals, skirtings, architraves etc.
Can I do my own building inspection?2019-02-03T04:06:22+10:00

We do not recommend that you do your own building and pest inspection unless you are a qualified and licensed building and pest inspector. As the purchaser it is difficult for you to remain objective in your assessment.

Do you have insurance?2019-02-03T04:05:45+10:00

Yes. Our company is fully insured with Rapid Solutions Insurance. Policy numbers can be supplied upon request.

Are your inspections done by more than one inspector?2019-01-31T11:10:08+10:00

No. Each of our inspectors is a qualified licensed builder and licensed timber pest inspector

Will the inspector advise us whether to purchase the property or not?2019-01-31T10:56:52+10:00

No. The aim of the report is to provide you with the condition of the property at the day of inspection. The decision to purchae the property is up to you.